Initial Licensing Fee Waiver
PT/PTA | Initial Licensing Fee Waiver
Effective June 6, 2019, a new law requires the West Virginia Board of Physical Therapy and other licensing authorities to waive all initial licensing fees for low-income individuals and military families. This waiver only applies to the PT/PTA/AT license fees, application fee, and exam processing fee, per Title 16 Legislative Rule Series 4. This waiver does not apply to those seeking a temporary permit from the Board or to any other fees.
A “low-income individual” is defined as an individual who resides in the local labor market (every county in West Virginia, and any county outside of West Virginia if any portion of that county is within fifty miles of the border of West Virginia) whose household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the poverty line. This is pursuant to the most recent annual poverty guidelines released by the United States Department of Health and Human Services. To access the federal poverty guidelines, visit https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines. From the “Resources” area, click on “A chart with percentages (e.g. 125 percent) of the guidelines” and review the column marked “130%.”
The term “low-income individual” also includes any person enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program including, but not limited to, the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program (TANF), Medicaid, or the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP).
Military Family Waiver
A “military family” is defined in the law as any person who serves as an active member of the armed forces of the United States, the National Guard, or a reserve component, honorably discharged veterans of those forces, and their spouses. This term also includes surviving spouses of deceased service members who have not remarried.
Individuals seeking a waiver of initial licensing fees, as either a low-income individual or military family, must submit the applicable initial licensing fee waiver application and all required documentation to the Board. Original signatures are required; therefore, applications are not accepted via fax or email. The Board will process the waiver request and provide written notification of eligibility to the applicant, via email, within 30 days of receipt of an accurately completed licensing fee waiver application. The 30-day processing period does not commence until all required documentation and information has been received by the Board.
An applicant who is approved for an initial licensing fee waiver must apply for initial licensure within 60 days of receiving written notification from the Board. If the initial licensure application is not received within 60 days, the waiver will expire. Applicants are only eligible to receive one initial licensing fee waiver from the Board.
Approval of an initial licensing fee waiver does NOT entitle the individual to receive a West Virginia license. An individual granted an initial licensing fee waiver must still apply for licensure and meet the qualifications and criteria for licensure as set forth in West Virginia Code and Legislative Rule.
Low-Income Initial Licensing Fee Waiver
Military Family Initial Licensing Fee Waiver